..rain on my parade
The Name Game
2002-02-06 @ 9:03 a.m.

My name is Katie. Just Katie. Not Katherine or Kathleen or Kate. Just Katie. I am twenty years old and my name sounds like it belongs to a five year old with pig tales and no front teeth. My mom claims that she was only twenty when she had me so she didn't really think to far in advance. So I will eternally be Katie. I shouldn't complain to much. My parents really liked the "House on Pooh Corner" song so much that if I had been a boy that my name would have been Christopher Robin. Imagine how much I would have gotten beaten up for that name.

I would have preferred to be a Kate. There are a lot of great Kate's, Kate Winslet, Kate Dillon, Kate Blanchett, Kate Bekinsdale.(I don't like Kate Moss, being a size twelve myself). There's even the great song by Ben Fold's Five entitled "Kate". But what good Katie's are there?

The only one that comes to mind is Katie Couric.

My grandpa always calls me Katrinka and my grandma calls me Katya. My friend's two year old son calls me "Cece" because he couldn't pronounce Katie for quite some time and Cece just stuck.So I suppose I really don't have much reason to complain. But I have learned one thing. I'll give my children full names. For example I really like the name Nathan but I would name a son Nathaniel so he could be Nathan or Nate(can't stand that nickname).

Just wait when my kids grow up they'll complain about their names to. You just never can win.



before*little girl your in the middle* after

i don't need your rainy day on my parade
* currently
* archives
* profile
* cast list
* PICTURES
* notes
* designed
* dland

Katie(me)...curvy single 21 year old Wisconsin waitress who has the worst luck in men, believes in the positive effects of sexy underwear especially black,can't live without music, painted toenails, Curves(gym for women)and a good book(The Scandolous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc by Lorraine Despres)

The non-fuckwit~Jeremy the wonderful guy I'm seeing, met him at the restaurant where I work

THE FUCKWITS...George...very attractive very MARRIED flirtatious cook at work and oh yeah whose brother is Fernando,who I fooled around with before George started at the restaurantand before I found out he too was married Arturo...busboy I was interested in and kissed but nothing ever came ofJeremy...ex I broke up with in march because he wasn't ready for a relationship and then he got engaged a month later

THE CAST...

Jessica...best friend, beautiful built like a playboy bunny who I love yet drives me crazy

Erin...my best friend down to earth with a three year old son Logan

Cali...my long lost twin or so it seems at the restaurant

Miriah...friend from work who is absolutly beautiful on the inside and out

Judi's Place...family restaurant I work at they are like a second family