..rain on my parade
big girls don't cry
Monday, Apr. 08, 2002 @ 2:02 pm

When I got my Glamour issue a few days ago I was pleasantly suprised 8 pages later to open to a lush tropical scene with a beautiful woman drenched in sea water approaching man in the distance. She is unmistakenly sexy. But oh wait! Is that a bit of a tummy I see? She isn't flat chested like most models. Oh yes this is an ad for Lane Bryant! I applaud Lane Bryant so much. She has proven that you don't have to be a stick figure to be beautiful. I'm actually a bit dissapointed that I am only a size 12 (her clothes start at 14). I am so happy for this new revolution. In Glamour's issue they had plus size models throughout the issue not just in one article.As far as we have come we still are far fromchanging. Last night I was buying an orange push pop(the ice cream kind)when a regular customer said "Cheating, huh?". Because of course the fact that I am a girl and not a size three insinuates the fact that I must be on some kind of diet. I despise the way people talk sometimes without even thinking.

This woman who I work with was telling me about her daughters, her oldest was a size three and the other one was "built like you, you know like a brick house". I also had another regular customer once who we were having a discussion about this girl who didn't realize she was pregnant until she gave birth in a bathroom. I said that I couldn't believe she couldn't tell, there are some OBVIOUS signs! His comment was maybe she couldn't tell because she is a "bigger girl like you and Toni."(Toni is a size 11) GRRRRR! Will people ever learn that we do not like to be referred to as "bigger girls".



before*little girl your in the middle* after

i don't need your rainy day on my parade
* currently
* archives
* profile
* cast list
* PICTURES
* notes
* designed
* dland

Katie(me)...curvy single 21 year old Wisconsin waitress who has the worst luck in men, believes in the positive effects of sexy underwear especially black,can't live without music, painted toenails, Curves(gym for women)and a good book(The Scandolous Summer of Sissy LeBlanc by Lorraine Despres)

The non-fuckwit~Jeremy the wonderful guy I'm seeing, met him at the restaurant where I work

THE FUCKWITS...George...very attractive very MARRIED flirtatious cook at work and oh yeah whose brother is Fernando,who I fooled around with before George started at the restaurantand before I found out he too was married Arturo...busboy I was interested in and kissed but nothing ever came ofJeremy...ex I broke up with in march because he wasn't ready for a relationship and then he got engaged a month later

THE CAST...

Jessica...best friend, beautiful built like a playboy bunny who I love yet drives me crazy

Erin...my best friend down to earth with a three year old son Logan

Cali...my long lost twin or so it seems at the restaurant

Miriah...friend from work who is absolutly beautiful on the inside and out

Judi's Place...family restaurant I work at they are like a second family